ISIS Suffers Devastating Losses in Eastern Syria This Week

by Leith Fadel, Al-Masdar News

The Islamic State of Iraq and Al-Sham (ISIS) has had a rough week in eastern Syria, as the loss of ground and men have demoralized their forces in the Homs, Al-Hasakah, and Deir Ezzor Governorates. The recent losses for ISIS marks the first time since ISIS’ emergence in Syria that they are on the defensive against both the Syrian Arab Army (SAA) and the People’s Protection Units (YPG) in certain areas; this has also caused issues for their militants fighting Iraq due to their forces stretching too thin.

East Homs:

The Syrian Arab Army captured the imperative Al-Sha’ar Gas Fields in eastern Homs, resulting in the SAA taking full control of the Palmyra-Homs Road that leads to the Deir Ezzor Governorate. The loss of Al-Sha’ar Gas Fields and their positions in the north will have a paramount effect on ISIS’ mobility in the desert area of Homs. According to a military source, over 200 ISIS fighters were killed at the battle of Al-Sha’ar Gas Fields, and over 60 of their militants surrendered to the SAA yesterday.


Perhaps the most ambiguous battlefield in Syria, the province of Al-Hasakah was a vital entry point for ISIS militants to the Iraqi city of Mosul in the Nineveh Governorate. ISIS’ attempt to take control of the YPG-held city of Ras Al-‘Ayn in Rif Al-Hasakah has proven difficult, as the latter has claimed the liberation of over 100 villages in west Al-Hasakah; this is due in large part to the Anti-ISIS Coalition airstrikes that have pounded ISIS positions in the province.

Currently, ISIS is on the defensive at the integral village of Tal Hamees, where the SAA and National Defense Forces (NDF) are currently besieging the area from the south, while the YPG independently attacks ISIS in the west.

Deir Ezzor:

Deir Ezzor was once an ISIS stronghold on the border of Iraq’s Al-Anbar Governorate; it has changed dramatically since their attempted besiegement of the Deir Ezzor Military Airport. Upon their failure to capture the crucial road to the airport, ISIS was forced to retreat further east due to the constant aerial bombardments from the Syrian Air Force. Overwhelmed and exhausted, ISIS has forestalled most attacks on SAA-controlled areas (Al-Sina’a is the most recent attack).

The Syrian Arab Army’s 104th Airborne Brigade of the Republican Guard has led its first offensive in the Deir Ezzor Governorate since the advent of this armed conflict in Syria. The offensive was geared to cutoff ISIS militants from the suspension bridges to the Deir Ezzor District and to recapture the strategic Sakr Island (Haweeja Sakr). According to a military source, the 104th Brigade controls 90 percent of Sakr Island and all 3 bridges leading to the island.

The identified ISIS fighters killed or captured/wounded in Deir Ezzor this week:

Sakr Island:

1. Mohammad ‘Aziz
2. Naafa’a Al-Yass
3. Bassaam Al-Baqi
4. Mahmoud Al-Rabaah
5. Firas Assihaaq
6. Kamaal Tala’a
7. Hishaam Hussein
8. Ghassan Al-Najem
9. Saleh ‘Abdel-Mohammad Al-Nasser
10. Shawkat Abu ‘Abdel-Rahman (Tunisian)
11. Hussamaldeen Ahmad
12. Mohammad ‘Abdel-Nasser
13. Saaher Saahoud
14. Khalil Fawaaz
15. Ayman Suleiman
16. Saher ‘Aboujj
17. Saleh Al-‘Arawi
18. Kamaal Khaled
19. Jamaal Al-Jamaass
20. Nouress Daoud
21. Mustafa Al-‘Attash
22. Shaker ‘Aaraf
23. ‘Abeeda Tahar
24. Dahed Al-Habeebi
25. Suheil ‘Ali
26. Ghannam ‘Abdel-Samad
27. Anour ‘Aboud
28. Rabeeya’ Ghadeer
29. ‘Alaam Al-Yasseen
30. Zaher Suleiman
31. Saaber Malaa Bassaam
32. ‘Abdel-Rahman Fatouh
33. Ahmad ‘Attiya
34. Zaher Al-‘Akaala
35. Rami Ri’ad
36. Jareer ‘Imaad
37. Nashwan Al-Khalif
38. Kamal ‘Ali Al-Mara’ay
39. ‘Abdel-Salaam Al-Mohabaash
40. Thabit ‘Umraan
41. Ziad Mohammad Taha
42. Sa’oud Al-Bakheet
43. ‘Aamer Safi
44. Tariq ‘Abdullah
45. Fayaq Mahmoud
46. Sa’eed Dhiyab Al-Nabir


1. Majd Subhi
2. Zaher Al-Shawa
3. Firas Naafa’a
4. Hani Khalouf
5. Nawaf Waleed
6. Ayseer Haza’a
7. Fatah Al-Shamir
8. Ghaith Ta’ama
9. Bassil Tayseer
10. Zabeer Rahaam
11. Saamir Al-Kaata’a
12. Nouress Badour

Siaysiyyeh Bridge:

1. Haamad ‘Abdullah Mahi
2. Talal Ahmad Shareef
3. Mohannad Suheil Sultan
4. Rawouf Al-Khalidi
5. Nabeel Al-‘Anizi (Saudi)
6. Tamer ‘Abdel-Qader
7. Yasseen ‘Alloush
8. Ahmad ‘Alaaweh
9. Ahmad Ramadan
10. Baraa’ Mahmoud
11. Faatah Abu Al-Houl
12. Yousif Al-Raawi
13. Ra’ad Al-Kamour
14. Qateeba Na’amaan,


1. Badaya’a Rahaam Mara’ay
2. Qusay Al-Shibli
3. ‘Aaraf Maamoun
4. Nizaar Shaadi
5. Zaafar Dara’ayi
6. Shaher Al-Fareeh

Al-Sina’a (Industrial Zone):

1. Mohammad Tamaam Al-Haajam
2. Saadiq Joudat
3. Ghatfaan ‘Abdel-Salaam
4. Hassan Noufeeq
5. Fadi Khalil
6. Ghassan Al-Fayaz
7. Ibrahim Jamoul
8. Yasseen Al-Hajj Mahmoud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *